30 Day Disney Challenge: Day Ten

Day Ten: Your favorite song

I have several favorites, but many of them are villain songs. That’s a separate question, though, so I had to ponder my other options. Most of the 90’s movies had fantastic songs (Aladdin, Pocahontas, Beauty and the Beast, and The Lion King). It was difficult to choose from the selection. I feel most of The Lion King songs were great, but I don’t really feel like picking one of those today. It feels like a cop-out.

Ergo, I limited my choices down and ended up with a tie. Most of Disney’s “princess” movies tend to have at least one song about the woman wanting to explore and be free (despite the fact that they end up in their correct gender roles due to some handsome man interfering).

Since Belle is my favorite I’ll let her go first:

(Is it just me or does the end remind you of The Sound of Music.) Here’s a Harry Potter/B&B tumblr spin-off.

Next is Avatar Pocahontas. She was also the “free spirited” main character who doesn’t dream of meeting a handsome prince, but wants adventure. I loved “Just Around the River Bend”, but YouTube will not allow me to embed that one. So instead you get “Colors of the Wind” which is just as good (dirty Native American propaganda that it is /sarcasm):

(Does that rock outcrop remind you of anything… circle of life-ish?)

BTW, when researching Disney songs I was reminded of “Best of Friends” which I listened to. goddamnit.

EDIT: Question for the audience. Which did you like better: Colors of the Wind or Circle of Life?

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in 30 Day Disney Challenge, childhood, fantasy, movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The first version of Circle of Life. Not as keen on the second version.

  2. humorousandherby

    I absolutely love the idea of doing a 30 day Disney challenge! Did you create the challenge yourself?

  3. Circle of life: my siblings and I listened to that album over and over, ALL THE WAY TO FLORIDA AND BACK TO N.Y. in the back of the station wagon that summer. (BTW, we usually stopped at least one night each way, so I’m talking about at least 4 full days of driving. I’m pretty sure it was the ONLY cassette tape we had!)

Leave a Reply

