Escape From My Childhood

My teenage years (14 to 17 or so) saw an abundance of weird tastes. My music was “alternative”, my clothing was either dregs or the popular “ska” style wide pants, and my choices in movies and television were not things I could share with the general public. General public meaning the small towns I grew up in. Now that I have the power of the Internet, I find there are so many losers outcasts like myself.

This post is being made to record my personal infatuations during those years. If you’ve read any of my “I’d Hit That” posts, I think you know what terrors are in store.

One of the main things I can remember, as it went on for years, was my obsession with Billy. Billy the Blue Ranger. I adored the fact that even as a shy, sweet, nerdy outcast he earned respect from his more popular peers. That and the group had to like each other in order to make a good “team”. The fact that I was still obsessing over him at the age of 16 seemed a little odd, but I had hope since I was close to his age. Turns out I had no hope as he came out of the closet several months back. I still adore him, though.

(This image comes from Andinoh’s blog and is a fantastic piece on the backstage dilemma David Yost faced.)

Now to the reference of the title: At some point we ended up taping Escape From L.A. (link is to a really old John Carpenter website – I love finding these and I have a few more on this post). Mom and I loved bad movies and this one had promise. It was because of this movie that my obsession with Kurt Russell began. It was a peculiar fixation. He was old enough to be my dad back in the 90s. My main attraction was to Snake Plissken (wore all black, bad-guy attitude, and he smoked which I thought was so cool), but I sought other Kurt Russell movies. I ended up watching Executive Decision more than once. This desire to see more Russell also lead to the unfortunate viewing of Captain Ron.
He has worked with some awesome actors, especially the cameos from Escape From L.A. like Bruce Campbell and this guy:

Executive Decision was kinda campy and I think that made Halle Berry tolerable:

Other image sources I thought to use: the ad poster that shows him surfing, the tumblr tags, and a picture from my Memories folder on Picasa that surprisingly came up when I was searching for Escape From L.A. pictures. And to answer any queries: I did not see Escape From New York until I was in my early 20s.

I’ll do one more and then maybe save the rest for later. I loved watching Xena and Hercules. Due to the attraction of one of the side characters I was lured into watching Young Hercules (which also starred a young, hot baby goose Ryan Gosling) and Cleopatra 2525 (which I wrote fanfic for… don’t ask). The character in question was Strife. Yep, a god that started with small cameos and then became one of the main villains in the shows listed. Played by Joel Tobeck, I found his pale, weirdly S&M look just.. hot. His character was annoying as fuck, but it was forgivable as long as he remained skinny and pale. I think this is when I started my goth phase.
Strife and his hot aunt… mother… thing Discord:

And Tobeck as an evil clown:

(Also looked hot in a show called Tangle apparently as well as playing Dr. Frankenfurter.)

Side story: Joel Tobeck came to visit for a Xena/Herc convention in Connecticut and it was the first one I had ever been to. His was also the first autograph I’ve ever gotten. Since this was during high school I was at the extreme height of my social phobias and therefore could not talk in his presence. To my chagrin my mother decided to speak for me. When we got to the head of the line she said, “You’re her favorite!” and took a picture of him. I wasn’t really in it. I was sort of obscuring Kevin Smith a.k.a. Ares. I still get nervous when asking for an autograph. I feel like I’m intruding into their space. And I’m also sad that Kevin Smith wasn’t really in the picture because he passed away (doing awesome stunts) a few years later.

These posts, while mostly personal, take awhile because I like to find old, obscure sources. The Internet is vast and the old layers provide for our needs and yet we feel the need to bury what can never go away. For instance, I have two Angelfire accounts that I will never be able to shut down because they were set up under a different e-mail. Any suggestions?

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in childhood, guilty pleasures, I'd hit that, movies, nerds, T.V., what women want and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good call on XENA. I’ve only seen season one, so I got to start working on the next episodes. Since you’re a fan of Kurt Russell, what are you thought’s on Tarantino’s DEATH PROOF?

    • Xena gets much better the next few seasons, but the last one jumps several sharks.

      I have mixed feelings about Tarantino’s work in general. I think “Death Proof” could have been better, but Kurt’s performance in it was great.

      • I’ll have to get back into to Xena, especially now that you mentioned that it doesn’t just jump a shark but several. It’s already got it’s campy moments, so that will bring things to the ridiculous.

        I take it then you’re not excited about Tarantino’s DJANGO UNCHAINED. DEATH PROOF is actually my special favorite of his works, but I know I’m in the minority there.

        • I loved the show, especially since it was campy. The last season, though… they go to India? Xena is the chosen one? Trying not to give too many spoilers, just warnings.

          I don’t know much about the Django, so the jury is out. “Death Proof” is up there next to “Kill Bill”. His other works are too focused on chit-chat and shock value. I like parts of them, but I don’t think he’s the best writer/director.

Leave a Reply

