Getting Back To Basics

During my vacation I realized a lot of my anxiety from the blog came from pressure to “entertain”. I wanted to post random pics and videos, but now I have a tumblr account for that outlet. So that leaves what? I’ve written posts on fashion, technology, history, etc. I’ve also written just about me. Most of my audience (most – not to discount my random fans :D) are people that know me. The pieces I write about myself get more responses. Since I’m far away I find my friends are more interested in what’s going on. That doesn’t mean I’m going to become self-obsessed and ONLY write about me me me. I’ll still have fun with other subjects, but I’ll try to make this a more down-to-earth blog. That’s what Mom’s been asking for, at least. It’s easier to write from the heart, anyway. That means if I’m ever stuck on what to write, I can just pick something that happened in my life and tell a story. I like telling stories. My friends can tell you that. I don’t know, though, if I should get liquored up before writing those posts first….

Another note: because of that weird stress level I was falling under I think I’m going to make this a 3x a week blog instead of 4-6x. I’ll post Mon/Wed/Fri (or try to at least), that way I’m not bogging down Facebook with updates and I’m not panicking for ideas everyday. I hope somebody is happy with this information. If not, that won’t stop me from trying to pick this blog up for a few weeks at least to give me something to do.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on August 15, 2011, in personal issues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am happy 🙂 I like stories.

  2. i am very happy that you r gunna write from your heart rather than just to be amuzing! i sometimes feel like i need to entertain too; thank you for showing me that it shouldn’t be a chore. ❤

  3. This is part of why I stopped posting my score from Metagameworld. I’m almost to 5000, but I don’t really have a fun way to share it yet.

Leave a Reply

