Ensuring the Summer Never Ends

I have returned from my elongated vacation with more ideas, more creative energy, and more shoes. Unfortunately, I still don’t have the ability to destroy my new town, much less the Tri-State Area. After seeing hours of Phineas and Ferb I at least know what not to do.

If you watch daytime cartoons in the summer you may notice that the Disney channel thinks Phineas and Ferb is the bees knees. I have come across several marathon runnings of this show. (Seriously: I turned on the T.V. this morning wondering if it would be on and low & behold!…) The weird thing is that once I start an episode I can’t help but finish it. Even if I’ve seen it before I like to check if I’ve missed a secret (or not so secret) adult joke.

This isn’t so much a kids’ show as an adult cartoon well-disguised. It isn’t crude, though, like Spongebob and brilliantly works as healthy kid cartoon material by giving out the lessons of working together (even if you are an ambiguously gay bully), getting outside (instead of watching T.V. like you’re doing right now), and being creative (rocket science isn’t that hard).

For me, the biggest attraction is Dr. Heinz Doofenshmirtz. Not just because he’s the evil, attempting-to-be-genius mastermind, but because he represents the sad, lonely failure in all of us. I want to be his friend and tell him it’s alright. Is that weird?

Now for the media I like to tack on: The show is always fun and random, especially when it comes to Ferb. (What *is* that short for?) And, of course, there’s a flood of P&F fan art over on DeviantArt. (I apologize. You don’t have to go there.) I ~definitely~ recommend (as a fan of this kind of crap) the Hipster Phineas and Ferb tumblr. Here’s one of my favorites:

General funny moments:

And if you are just a fan of Doofenshmirtz:

Extra fun fact: Richard O’Brien (of Rocky Horror) plays the voice of the Dad.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in amusement, guilty pleasures, T.V. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I did not know it existed and now I am a fan.
    Where is my time machine, dammit?

Leave a Reply

