I Feel Funny About This Part 2

Today is another fan art day. I hope I’m not losing some customers. I have choosy tastes when it comes to fan art. I know what I like and that’s often very little. I have a hard time joining fan groups because that means *art* will crop up. The uncomfortable type. The type that I feel the urge to use “constructive criticism” on, but don’t want to hurt my newfound imaginary Internet friends. Their imaginary love means so much! I’m sorry, a little PTSD there. I have tried my hand at fan art and maybe it’s because I SUCK SO HARD that it comes across as bitterness, but I do have a discerning eye and it takes a special talent to get my attention. Even then it still makes me feel funny.

This here art from tentaclees is located at the Deviant Art boards. Her general art is pretty awesome, but most of her work seems fan-based. I guess I connect because I’m familiar with most of her subjects, but I really just like her style. I always like to think that if I had continued to pursue drawing I wouldn’t suck so badly today. I think actually attending an art class in high school messed me up. … Off track again. Today’s not been a good day for me.

tentaclees’ subjects cover Harry Potter, Johnny the Homicidal Maniac (friends can verify I was concernedly obsessed with J. Vasquez’s works in college), MST3K, Gorillaz (Noodle mostly), Metalocalypse, The Venture Brothers (my computer’s name is Dr. Girlfriend so we approve), and countless other sci fi/fantasy/video game titles. Here are a few choice works, though the artist seems quite prolific:



Sorry the images are so large. For some reason WP disobeys my orders for thumbnails so images tend to be readjusted. Even if none of these do it for you, you can still check out the gallery in the link above (or click on any image) because it seems like art my audience would be into. If I have an audience. Hello?
…thump thump thump thump *slam*
Oh well.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in artsy, guilty pleasures, nerds, video games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Here! You’ve got one audience. ^o^

    I wish I could draw though. Is drawing something like this a gift, or can it be learned ? I highly doubt it. It’s a gift, surely. No matter how hard I try, I can’t even draw a straight line. It always slants upwards.

Leave a Reply

