Dracu-Lee-an (That’s Terrible)

I wish a very happy birthday to Christopher Lee today. At 89 the actor has 272 movies (and counting) under his malevolent belt. I think he’s one of the greatest voices and villains on screen. I know a lot of people associate him with either Dracula or Saruman (or Dooku ~ eesh), but I have fond memories of his some other roles. There was King Haggard from The Last Unicorn:

(Via Shannon’s Study)
His small, but pivotal role as The Judge in Sleepy Hollow:

(Via Electric Dragonfly)
And, because I’m lost in the games, DiZ/Ansem the Wise from Kingdom Hearts II:

Looking at his list of movies, I noticed a lot of his earlier years are filled with fantastic horror films that I should eventually get around to watching. I am in a sort of mild-interest-in-horror phase and wouldn’t mind starting with the classics. Besides, I LOVED his cameo in The Magic Christian as “ship’s vampire”:

(A Must. See. Movie.) Also, you are welcome, for anyone who bothered to click on any of those movie links. I feel like I’m looking in someone’s basement and finding old copies of Popular Mechanics.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on May 27, 2011, in childhood, movies, undead and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

