Keep Watching

I am a huge MST3K fan. A huge, HUGE MST3K fan. One summer in high school I had a Prince of Space MiSTy tape that I played on repeat (another reason the VCR was shot in less than a year) in the background while I worked on other projects. That was one of the summers where I didn’t have any real friends so Mike and the bots substituted. That doesn’t sound pathetic at all. Right?

Then in college it was a great way to bond with people, including a friend who has stuck with me for over a decade. Roo had most of them in mpeg format and he’d invited me to watch them at his dorm room (scandalous!). I think this was in part to scare off his creepy roommate.

Dragon*Con has brought me close to my heroes on a number of occasions. I’ve even gotten a picture taken with Mike Nelson and Kevin Murphy. Here’s the link, although I have to explain this was more than eight years ago and I had worse fashion sense than I do now: I’m wearing a Dr. Evil shirt. I kinda miss that shirt now. Nostalgia has no taste.

I have happened upon two MST3K related tumblrs, although one doesn’t seem active anymore. The other one inspired me greatly and I am working to add to it. I’ll post pics from the defunct one tomorrow, but today I’d like to show you this one that I made from the Hipster MST3K site:

And these are a few of my favorites made by other posters:


So there you have it. (A letter opener.) I’ll be posting more updates on Hipster MST3K and hope to inspire more people to return. If not, I have a fun art project to keep myself busy for a few days.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on May 16, 2011, in amusement, nerds, T.V. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

