You Don’t Insult The Cos!

I’m going to get somewhat serious & political in today’s post. I have been trying to keep this blog fairly clean of personal stuff, but this week I’m overriding that. I heard this morning that Donald Trump insulted Bill Cosby and that cannot go unanswered.

Admittedly, Bill instigated it a bit. Bill Cosby and Donald Trump were on Meredith Vieira’s show on the same day. Trump went on the show first. His presidential run must have been mentioned. Cosby reacted, but not in a way that I would consider hateful, just frustrated:
Vodpod videos no longer available.

Honestly I am hearing, ‘Shit or get off the pot, Donald.’ Which isn’t saying anything about his political views or how Bill Cosby may feel about him personally (although he probably doesn’t like him now). It’s basically saying you need to make a decision because you are showing you aren’t a decision maker; you can throw your hat in anytime and it doesn’t/shouldn’t matter. It doesn’t seem like Cosby has faith in Donald anyway. He’s no Ahhnold. He’s no Reagan. Being rich and famous doesn’t automatically get you a seat at the White House. Donald Trump doesn’t have the charisma and seems more like a Ross Perot. Okay, he has charisma, just the wrong kind.

He may be especially doomed if he’s saying this kind of shit about a beloved human being like Bill Cosby:
“In any event, as I watched the show, the subject of Donald Trump came up. I was surprised to hear him blabber, somewhat incoherently “you run or shut up.” The hatred was pouring out of his eyes when he said this. As I am sure he must know I cannot run until this season of Celebrity Apprentice ends. I know that he has taken a lot of heat over the years in that he seems to be talking down to the people he’s talking to and purportedly trying to help. Actually, based on the way he acted, things are not looking too good for Cosby. I wish he would be more honest, and if he doesn’t want me to run because he’s obviously an Obama fan, he should state the reasons and not come into my “green room” in front of numerous witnesses and treat me like his best friend, only to denigrate me when I’m not around. Sadly, he got more attention talking about me than he did on the merits of his own appearance–maybe he is not as dumb as I thought.”

Maybe there is some truth. Perhaps Cosby was mentioning Trump in order to bring light to his message at the end, but instead of questioning him on that, Trump reacts vehemently. Any people who loved Cosby and grew up with him (I did, I don’t know about the rest of you heathens) are now at odds with Trump. Although, anyone who grew up with The Cosby Show probably isn’t a fan of Donald’s politics anyway.

Confession: I am biased on this. I have seen almost every episode of The Cosby Show. It was almost bread and butter in my family growing up, like Seasame Street. Also, Sarah has been buying seasons and we watched the episodes together so I’m caught up on my childhood. Here’s a reminder on why we love and support Bill in these times:

(Yay! Another now-defunct website I have located in the annals of Internet Time.)


In other news of the weird: In doing research for a Trump/peacock/NBC allegory ~which didn’t pan out~, I wound up on Wikipedia and found this:

“Melek Taus (ملك طاووس – Kurdish Tawûsê Melek), the Peacock Angel, is the Yazidi name for the central figure of their faith. The Yazidi consider Tawûsê Melek an emanation of God and a benevolent angel who has redeemed himself from his fall and has become a demiurge who created the cosmos from the Cosmic egg. After he repented, he wept for 7,000 years, his tears filling seven jars, which then quenched the fires of hell. In art and sculpture, Tawûsê Melek is depicted as a peacock. However, peacocks are not native to the lands where Tawûsê Melek is worshipped.”

I don’t believe this applies to Trump in any way. I feel this is more applicable to other major NBC players, like Alec Baldwin. I adore that man. ALEC BALDWIN FOR PRESIDENT 2012! Hell yeah.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in childhood, politics, T.V. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Shit or get off the pot” has got to be the worst marriage proposal metaphor in existence.

Leave a comment