This is all JUNK!

New hobby: collecting used/defunct electronics. Items obtained so far: Zip drive, Sony Walkman, Calculator circa 70’s, and this:


(Via this site I did not buy it from as I found it for $4 at a second hand store.)

I just need to find film for this awesome piece of awesomeness. Now, I know what you’re saying, “But Beth, we thought there was medication for people with this kind of disorder.” That may be true, however, I am determined to see this through to the end, especially since I have a bit of a photography fetish hobby.

It costs $80-$120 at retail value for one 10-shot ye olde set. Suck! On e-bay, though, I may be able to get a classic film piece for $15-$30. Still a bit pricey, especially for something not guaranteed to work. I *did* find a website called The Impossible Project that has newly created film for these old cameras (for anyone who is in need). My main problem is that they haven’t created any colored film for my 600 yet, it’s just the PX Silver available, which means it will only come out B/W or Sepia. Which isn’t terrible, but it means everything will come out looking like my mom’s Christmas photos. I’ll be expecting the spectre of my grandpa smoking a cigar to waft through.

And no, I don’t know what I’ll be doing with the rest of the collection. I might take the zip drive apart since it doesn’t appear to be worth anything. The Walkman has crap on the back, but if batteries are put in it may still be in working condition. People want some retro crap? Or post/send links with craft ideas. I am super bored.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on March 5, 2011, in hobby, household affects, nerds, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

