Recommendations

I wanted to take this time to give others a chance to see where I spend *some* of my free time. A minor minor percentile of my posts may even be taken from these sources, but I tend to use my own energy to come up with stuff. Often, though, a link to an article or video from one of these places will spark creative juices or will be on a site that has something shinier.

First up, I really want to promote something I’ve followed for about four years now: mfisn. It evolved from cookiethievery (if anyone likes to dig through the Internets as I do, some of those links still work) and is a place for anons to post links. There’s no rating, no commenting, and only a handful of the links are posted by the mods. I want more people to check it out because for several months no posts were being put up. They thought with the increasing popularity of sites like Facebook, Reddit, StumbleUpon, etc., you have no reason to go to straight-up link sites like theirs. When they threatened to not renew, all the die-hard fans resurfaced and it’s back up & running. Honestly, what I like about the site is the lack of background noise. Even the way it is set up – list on white background – indicates simplicity. There’s no wondering about who recommends what (the mods don’t care if you hate a link), no “like” button, and there is a forum, but it’s tucked away and not necessary for the main site. So go check it out. If you like it, you don’t have to contribute, but every bit helps.

Every morning I get posts in my RSS feed by I have seen the whole of the Internet. Joanne Casey has a lot of good stuff on there. I prefer her blog to several other attempts, like The Daily What (which is trying to appease Cheezburger Moms that wander over there). She’s as random as I am, but with a lot more cute.

I also get daily e-mail updates from The Thrillist. They are technically a men’s magazine, but as they don’t focus on half-naked chicks and cars, I love them. A lot of the time they talk about gadgets, bars, and occasional nerd paraphernalia. You can tailor it to the closest city to you. This kinda upset me when I moved from Atlanta to New York because I lived a lot closer to the nucleus of Atlanta and now I’m about an hour or more from New York (although it wouldn’t matter because they *only* post City things – another reason my sister’s trying to get me to move there).

Pics & Gifs can be found at an old Game Trailers’ Forum Thread. 50 pages of awesome. I definitely steal from there, but I credit the main source.

And I wanted to give a shout-out to one of my inspirations (though she’ll probably never read this blog). Fear and Loathing by ellevee has not been updated in several months, but I read it through most of it’s duration and kept thinking, ‘that’s what I should do…’ Only nowadays do I have the time on my hands and while my posts are nowhere near as ambitious as hers were, I still thank her for the influence.

Sorry this is all I’ve got today and there were no posts this weekend. I have some sort of plague infestation that started as an infection in my lung and sinus cavities. (It wasn’t strep or cancer.) I will say one thing about being a smoker: post-nasal drip is a b*tch when you have no more cilia.

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on February 7, 2011, in personal issues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

