The King Is Dead

I’m going to see The Decemberists this evening after a subway, train, and car ride to Boston. It’ll be worth it to see my favorite band. I have most of their albums, but haven’t had much opportunity to savor their new album, The King is Dead, though I’ve heard a few songs and they are up to par. It’ll just be exciting to go to a concert since I haven’t been to one in forever.

One thing I am hopeful for is getting some Decemberists merch. I’ve lived this long a Decemberists fan and have nothing to show for it. I’d be interested to see if they have American tour posters that look as good as some of their previous posters. If not, I would like to get my hands one one of the older ones, because I’ve seen so many incredible designs from their European tours.

Here are some of my favorites, though you can Google “Decemberists Tour Poster” in images to see a lot of these:

(Via EMI Music Blog)

(Via The In Sound From Way Out)

(Via Richard Goodall Gallery)

About Strix Varia

Seeking the strange creatures of the Internet while staving off the boredom of being unemployed and far from old friends. Follow the blog if you need something with which to pass the time away.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in artsy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. nancy Rasmussen

    These posters are really amazing. I know nothing of The Decembrists but will now take a walk over to youtube to sample their music. If it’s anything like the artwork, I’m sure to become a fan.

    It’s so great that you’re able to get yourself up to Boston for the concert. Have a fabulous time!

Leave a Reply

